High-level session on Industry 4.0 for inclusive development at the 25th session of CSTD

The Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) is a subsidiary body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and the United Nations focal point for science, technology and innovation (STI) for development, in analyzing how STI, including information and communications technologies (ICTs), serve as enablers of the 2030 Agenda. It acts as a forum for strategic planning, sharing lessons learned and best practices, providing foresight about critical trends in STI in key sectors of the economy, the environment and society, and drawing attention to emerging and disruptive technologies.

Every year, the commission has two priority themes. For the twenty-fifth session, these are:

  • Industry 4.0 for inclusive development
  • Science, technology and innovation for sustainable urban development in a post-pandemic world

The Commission will also review the progress made in the implementation of and follow-up to the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society at the regional and international levels; and hear presentations on ongoing science, technology and innovation policy reviews. UNIDO will be actively involved in discussion about the opportunities offered by Industry 4.0 to drive positive change in developing countries.

High-level session on Industry 4.0 for inclusive development:

The event will be held in a hybrid format on 29 March 2022 at 2:30 - 4:30 p.m. CEST.


  • Ana Cristina Amoroso das Neves, Vice-Chair of CSTD Introduction of the Report of the Secretary-General (E/CN.16/2022/2) by the CSTD


  • Shamika N. Sirimanne, Director, Division on Technology and Logistics, UNCTAD

Keynote speaker:

  • Hiroshi Kuniyoshi is the Deputy to the Director-General and a Managing Director of UNIDO

Confirmed panelists:

  • Xiaolan Fu, Founding Director of the Technology and Management Centre for Development (TMCD), Professor of Technology and International Development, Oxford
  • Keun Lee, Professor of Economics, Seoul National University
  • T P Chopra, President, B LP, Group, CEO BLP Industries
  • Renata Malheiros Henriques, Brazilian Micro and Small Business Support Service (SEBRAE) Ministerial discussion
  • Douglas Letsholathebe, Minister of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology, Botswana
  • Marcos Pontes, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation of Brazil
  • Fortunato T. de la Peña, Minister of Science and Technology, the Philippines
  • Ali Taha Koç, Head of the Digital Transformation Office at the Presidency of Turkey

More information about the event is available here.

Register your interest here.